Looking for the Community Energy Scheme?

To our customers: An apology


15th May 2018

To our customers

We recognise that there has been a drop in our customer service performance over the last few weeks. We acknowledge that our service levels have fallen below the expectations of both the company and our customers. We would like to explain what has happened and what we are doing to fix things.

Several months ago, we embarked on a project to upgrade our IT system to improve customer service and also to be ready for our smart meter roll out. Unfortunately, the upgrade has resulted in a number of issues which have affected billing and meter readings.

At the same time, we have also had much higher call levels from people booking their smart meter installation, which we are really excited to finally have launched.

These two things have meant that a lot of people have called and emailed us leading to call waiting and email response times being unacceptably high. We recognise that this is incredibly frustrating for you, as it is for us. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience we have caused if you were unable to get through, had to wait a long time to speak to an advisor or didn’t receive a written response.

We care about this, so this is what we have done about it:

· We have fixed the core IT problems. Billing, meter readings and communications should all be back to normal and you should now be able to use your online account. We will also be enabling our online payment soon.

· We have hired more customer service staff.

· Every member of our staff is taking responsibility for making sure that if you need to contact us, you are looked after. They are all becoming Customer Champions.

Over the next 4 weeks, each customer will be allocated a Solarplicity employee who will be directly responsible for assisting in any way needed. This service will continue until our additional customer service teams are fully trained and able to provide the service our customers deserve.

Once again, we wish to offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during this period. We do care about our customers; your loyalty is everything to us and it hurts to know that some of you have had a bad experience. Our ambition is to give our customers the best possible service, and we will do everything in our power to achieve this.

Yours Faithfully,

David Elbourne